The Middler

by Kirsty Applebaum

“I was special. I was a hero. I lost the best friend I ever had.”

Eleven-year-old Maggie lives in Fennis Wick, enclosed and protected from the outside world by a boundary, beyond which the Quiet War rages and the dirty, dangerous wanderers roam. Her brother Jed is an eldest, revered and special. A hero. Her younger brother is Trig – everyone loves Trig. But Maggie’s just a middler; invisible and left behind. Then, one hot September day, she meets Una, a hungry wanderer girl in need of help, and everything Maggie has ever known gets turned on its head.

Narrated expertly and often hilariously by Maggie, we experience the trials and frustrations of being the forgotten middle child, the child with no voice, even in her own family. This gripping story of forbidden friendship, loyalty and betrayal is perfect for fans of Malorie Blackman, Meg Rosoff and Frances Hardinge.

The Middler

Kirsty Applebaum

Author's reaction to being shortlisted

Check this out...

If you like this, try...

Join the discussion!

How to report a comment

Spellbinding Cumbria is a friendly place. So if you find a comment that you don't think belongs on our site, for a variety of reasons, just click the little flag symbol to the right of every comment and reply.NB. You have to be logged in to report a comment.Thank you.