The Middler

by Kirsty Applebaum

“I was special. I was a hero. I lost the best friend I ever had.”

Eleven-year-old Maggie lives in Fennis Wick, enclosed and protected from the outside world by a boundary, beyond which the Quiet War rages and the dirty, dangerous wanderers roam. Her brother Jed is an eldest, revered and special. A hero. Her younger brother is Trig – everyone loves Trig. But Maggie’s just a middler; invisible and left behind. Then, one hot September day, she meets Una, a hungry wanderer girl in need of help, and everything Maggie has ever known gets turned on its head.

Narrated expertly and often hilariously by Maggie, we experience the trials and frustrations of being the forgotten middle child, the child with no voice, even in her own family. This gripping story of forbidden friendship, loyalty and betrayal is perfect for fans of Malorie Blackman, Meg Rosoff and Frances Hardinge.

The Middler

Kirsty Applebaum

Author's message

Check this out...

If you like this, try...

Join the discussion!

2 Comments
oldest
newest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Jane McFie
Editor
Jane McFie
16th April 2020 9:52 am

Thought this was a fantastic read. The family dynamics and where you fit in in sibling order were so well laid out, loved the family scenes around the dinner table that brought this out. Loved the bond between the siblings that came out stringly by the end, how fearless Maggie became, and what a strong female lead she was. The plot was fast moving and dramatic too.

Newman School
Newman School
7th May 2020 7:50 pm

This book was definitely the most enjoyable read so far, just getting on top of The Gifted The Talented And Me. I really enjoyed the layout of the book, the shorter chapters were a nice change that encouraged the book to be read quicker. I set myself to read 3 chapters for example but ended up reading much more. The dystopian theme being quite casual made the story and setting relatable yet thrilling to explore, you could imagine being in the scene, something hard to find in such futuristic reads. The multiple family ranking dynamics and many plot twists I… Read more »

0 0 vote
Article Rating

How to report a comment

Spellbinding Cumbria is a friendly place. So if you find a comment that you don't think belongs on our site, for a variety of reasons, just click the little flag symbol to the right of every comment and reply.NB. You have to be logged in to report a comment.Thank you.

2
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x